Snow Day Workout

cat-in-snow19Does shoveling snow count as one of my weekly workouts? My fitness app doesn’t include it as a setting but I’m seriously counting it.

christmasThursday we got a huge snowfall that kept most sane people in-doors. I looked at the snow and decided to leave it right where it was. I was happy to use the day in the house as an excuse to take down my Christmas decorations (don’t judge, I’ve been busy).

Friday was really cold out. Most people managed to go back to work but I took advantage of my job that lets me work from home. I stayed indoors, drank waaaay too much coffee, and never made it out of the house.  Every couple of hours I checked the weather app that assured me that Saturday would be much warmer, and thus a better day to get rid of the piles of snow. Maybe most of it would melt off. (Have I mentioned I really hate the cold?)

no-appAnd I was right, mostly. It was much warmer yesterday so a lot of the snow melted. Also I was able to work without being so bundled up; I worked in just a sweater, no coat. Also, the ice was easier to dig up.  On the other hand, the snow that was there was very wet and therefore very heavy.

At some point I picked up something the wrong way or moved the wrong way and pulled something.  So now I have this sharp pins-and-needle feeling running from my lower back, down my leg, and into my heel.  It is incredibly painful so I’m skipping my workout today which means I’m not meeting my weekly goal this week.

melting_snowNext time I’m just going to let the snow melt naturally.

Leave a Reply

