New blog for the second half…

Cloud 2I’ve been blogging under the name fatnforty for the past 6+ years (and tweeting for 8+ years), but as I am about to turn 50 in less than 6 weeks I finally decided it was time to change my name.  It was a struggle to come up with something that spoke to me, but after much discussion (and a failed twitter poll) I have selected FitFatRun.

For me, my forties were about coming to terms with who I am as a person, as a woman, as an athlete. (I can now call myself an athlete without embarrassment). I have learned to love the body I’m in (not the one I wished I had) and treat myself as well as I treat others.  I plan on using what I learned in my forties to make the second half of my life an awesome adventure. My grandmother lived to 102 and played golf until she was about 96, so I fully expect that I have at least another 50 years to make my way through life.

goodstuffI don’t know what comes next for me, exactly, but barring something unforeseen (a car hitting me while I run is not a far-fetched theory) I plan on being active as much as I can for as long as I can. I plan on challenging myself, and trying new things. I expect there will be many things I’m scared to do, but I’m going to do them anyway. I want to learn and grow as a person. I want to contribute to the world I live in.

If you are coming over from my old blog, thank you for your ongoing support.   If you are a new reader, welcome. Please feel free to chime in with comments, suggestions, and your own perspective.

 

 

One thought on “New blog for the second half…

  1. Pingback: New blog for the second half… | Fat 'n Forty

Leave a Reply

