Tissue Paper Skin

tissue paper

The more I laugh, the more lines I see. How can that be a bad thing?

I took a selfie today with my very dear friend that I’ve known forever and immediately posted it to Facebook. On my phone I thought we looked lovely together, but when I looked later on my computer, the picture was larger and my first thought was “Where did all those wrinkles come from?” My gut reaction was to take the picture down and I seriously had to talk myself out of it. I’m pleased to say I didn’t take much convincing.

What I thought about was how the wrinkles on my face remind me of my grandmother. When I was younger I used to think that my grandma’s skin looked like tissue paper. I thought it was so lovely, like a present waiting to be opened.  When did we as a society decide that aging was a bad thing? As my grandma used to say, “Getting old isn’t so bad. It sure beats the alternative…” So I’m looking at those wrinkles differently now.  I’m seeing how lovely the lines outlining my smile look, and how you can tell I’m smiling just by looking at my eyes.

twainThere is something wonderful about aging that our youth-oriented culture seems to forget. Growing old is an accomplishment. It is a win. As I’ve grown older I’ve learn to value life more, think less about what other’s think, and take better care of myself. Truth be told, you couldn’t pay me to be young again. I was so messed up back then.  I’m enjoying my life so much more now that I’m old.

3 thoughts on “Tissue Paper Skin

  1. Yes!

    So glad you wrote this. There’s so much pressure to try to “look and feel young.” – Which means fear and hide the signs of aging. I say “Pshah!” to that. In countries that revere the elderly older people have better physical and mental health and higher cognitive functioning. Here is a link to some research for your geeky readers like myself: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/00981380802591957?journalCode=wshc20#.VcoMuHj5g20.

    Like

Leave a Reply

