Nourish Your Body Well

38 weeksIt’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change.

Come on. We’ve heard that one before. I insist that my eating plan is not a diet, but many people argue with me that it is. lifestyle changeIn some ways my food plan is much more restrictive than any diet I’ve ever been on. In other ways it is so much more freeing for me than any plan.  If you are interested in the origins of my “cold-turkey” food plan or want more details about what I eat, you can check out the links.

The point is that my plan is about how I feel about food, not how much weight I lose. If I never lose another pound, I would stick to this plan the rest of my life because it feels good.

Through trial and error I found foods that nourish my body well, and when my body is well nourished I don’t have food cravings. Also, I can do wonderful things with my body, like run thousands of miles or walk millions of steps.

Nourishing my body means:

  •  lifestyle change2Feeding it regularly and never starving myself. No matter how much I ate yesterday, I’m not going to make up for it by not eating today.
  • Feeding it real, whole foods always. Nothing with preservatives or artificial crap. Organic when I can.
  • Feeding it nutrients it needs. Getting over my aversion to fats (I cook with olive oil). I eat whole grains. Plenty of protein and all the food groups.
  • Not feeding it trigger foods. For me that means no wheat. No bread, no pasta, no cereal. Those foods cause me to want to eat more and I lose control.

When I do all of this, I find it is much easier to stick to my plan, feel good about myself, and not feel deprived. Food cravings are the worst thing about dieting. I will do anything to avoid those.

Note: I am not a nutritionist, doctor, or psychologist. Everything on this site is based on my personal experience and research and is my own opinion, not fact. My words should not be a substitute for your own research and experience and should never, ever take place of the advice of a professional.

One thought on “Nourish Your Body Well

  1. Pingback: Be accountable. | Fat 'n Forty

Leave a Reply

