Admire Your Reflection

39 weeksI used to only look in the mirror to do a cursory check. Is my hair brushed? Is there anything in my teeth? Are all necessary parts covered? I didn’t like looking at myself because the mirror meant seeing what I wasn’t, not what I was. mirrorwarning

One thing I’ve learned recently is that if you want to learn to love your body, you have to start by looking at it — I mean spend some time really looking. The more you look, the more you can find what you love about yourself. When I first started I only looked at the parts I liked – my hair, my eyes, my calves…

But over time I found that there was beauty everywhere: In my scars, my stretch marks, the fine lines forming around my eyes. Even in the flap of skin that hangs over my stomach. Even my birthmark. I needed to learn to fall in love with myself, and that started with taking time to look.

Like a self-esteem version of the John Legend song that goes:

In the Harry Potter books we learn that the happiest person in the world would look in the Mirror of Erised and see a reflection of them, exactly as they were.

In the Harry Potter books we learn that the happiest person in the world would look in the Mirror of Erised and see a reflection of them, exactly as they were.

‘Cause all of me- Loves all of you
Love your curves and all your edges
All your perfect imperfections

(Listen to my daughter cover this song here)

Someone said to me recently that I look in mirrors a lot more now that I’ve lost so much weight, but the truth is they have that completely backwards; I started looking into mirrors more and that helped me get to a point where I could lose weight. The cart can’t come before the horse.

One thought on “Admire Your Reflection

  1. this post makes me cry a little, tears of joy. I love how you can even find beauty in your birthmark, it always pained me that you couldn’t love what I have loved my whole life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

