Wow, You Look So “Not Fat”

ambivalentOver the past few weeks I’ve had reasons to see people I haven’t seen in a long while, including some work colleagues from other parts of the country that I only see once or twice a year, a long-time friend who lives in another state, and someone I used to go to school with and haven’t seen in years. At each event I’m greeted with the shocked-surprised comment about my looks and I’m surprisingly ambivalent about it. Sure it is great when someone sees you and says, “Wow, you look fantastic!”

Except there’s a subtext. What I actually hear is, “Wow, you look not-fat!” When the comments come from most men or thin women, they usually follow-up by repeating the sentiment in different words so that I know it isn’t a platitude, but that they really, truly mean it. When the comments come from women who struggle with weight (and occasionally men who struggle) the follow-up is always “How did you do it?” Both sets of comments make me uneasy but it is the latter that makes me the most uncomfortable.

On a scale of 1 to Four Weddings and a Funeral, how uncomfortable do you feel?

On a scale of 1 to Four Weddings and a Funeral, how uncomfortable do you feel?

Here’s the thing: losing weight wasn’t the goal so much as the by-product. I wanted to get away from my food addiction, feel better and stronger, and get healthier. I felt older than my years and tired all the time. That was my original motivation anyway. As time went on I learned more about loving myself and my body and caring for myself. I focused on feeding my body the nutrients it needed, exercising for fun, and being gentle with myself. I try to be my own best friend instead of my own worst enemy. I’m breaking a lifetime of bad habits.

And along the way I lost about 90 lbs. It came off very slowly and at a certain point I stopped losing. (I suspect there is a correlation to running very long distances, but it could be that I’ve achieved my correct natural weight). I’ve been hovering around the same five pounds for the last six months, not gaining and not losing (a heretofore unknown phenomenon) and I’m happier than I’ve ever been, not because I weigh a certain amount but because I don’t really care what I weigh. So how do I respond to the unsolicited comments?

I usually try for a simple “thank you, I feel good,” (move along people, nothing to see) and some of the time that is enough, but most of that time my compliment-er doesn’t want the conversation to end there. How did you do it? is a whole, long conversation. If I’m dealing with an acquaintance, I usually stick with something like “healthy eating and exercise” which has the advantage of shutting down he conversation, but makes me feel like I’m feeding into the system of body policing – as if the goal to be thin is understood and accepted by all. If I don’t speak out, I’m part of the problem, aren’t I?

dear dietSometimes I say, “I gave up dieting and started focusing on self-acceptance,” which has the benefit of being truer, but almost always launches a much longer conversation than I really want to get into. I’ve told a few close friends, “If you want to know more you should read my blog,” and a few have, but most are really looking for easy answers about what I’m eating and how frequently I’m exercising.

I think I look great because I’m happy. I smile more. I get more sleep. I worry less. I still have lines and wrinkles and varicose veins (when did they show up??) and bunches of fat around my belly, but I feel strong and empowered and whole. So why, then do comments about how good I look invariably make me feel that it is just because I’m not-so-fat anymore and (for now) am fitting into what is “normal” and “acceptable.” And why does that make me feel so uncomfortable?

5 thoughts on “Wow, You Look So “Not Fat”

  1. I think that was one of the worst feelings I had for my momentary thinness, and I think it helped me run from that subconsciously.

    I remember a specific conversation, I was with my now ex, it was at an event that had noting to do with my body, but more to do with my mind. One sister said “So how great is it she looks so great now” and he replied with “She always looked great.” And that shut down the conversation.

    This struck me and stayed with me, not because it was a one time thing, but it was something that happened the whole time. Anytime I get a little bit smaller the comments about how good I look bother me. As if my appeal is based just on the size of my waist, which sadly, to some it is. That my body was enough to be a topic at an event where that should have been inappropriate. But more so, why didn’t I have the reaction my ex did then? Why didn’t I think I always looked great?

    I do now, or most of the time I do. Learning to love the skin you are in is important for so many reasons, but that understanding and knowledge isn’t visible to the outside world. Everyone wants the lose weight now trick, if there were such a trick, we would all know it and it wouldn’t be a mystery. Focusing on your mental heath and your physical health is great, and it can have some great by products. Being happy is the best looking thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the share. And your ex was right: You always look great. I love how he “shut it down” but it is easier for someone else to do that for you than to do it for yourself!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Plan Is Not For You | Fat 'n Forty

  3. Pingback: Not Fat? That Isn’t a Compliment | Fat 'n Forty

Leave a Reply

