All You Need Are Running Shoes

I'm on my fourth pair of these awesome running shoes. I was starting to get a small tear, but I emailed the company and they are sending me a replacement. I love a company that stands behind their product.

I’m on my fourth pair of these awesome running shoes. I was starting to get a small tear, but I emailed the company and they are sending me a replacement. I love a company that stands behind their product.

You know why running is such a great sport? Because you can do it anywhere and all you need is running shoes. Unlike other sports, like hockey or football or even golf. Those sports require lots of expensive gear just to get started. But not running.

You can run anywhere as long as you have a decent pair of running shoes. And a sports bra, obviously. Yup, that’s it. Just running shoes and a sports bra. Well, and you need clothes to run in, like shorts or sweatpants. And if you can get lycra pants, that’s even better.

So running shoes, bra, and lycra pants and a shirt. That’s it. Easy-peasy.

Well, if you are going to run year round you will need different clothes for hot and cold months. Tank tops for summer. Long sleeves and long johns for winter. But you are saving so much money by not being in those expensive sports, so a few different running outfits, running shoes, sports bra. And definitely some running socks, because I don’t want blisters.

So shoes, bra, clothes, socks and the open road. Best sport ever. Just me and the few things I wear and I can run, run, run. Well, maybe a stop watch to time yourself, right?

If you are running around a track, a stop watch works great, but on the open road it sure would help to have a pedometer or GPS (or both) to track your distance. So that’s it: running shoes, bra, clothes, socks, stop watch, pedometer, and GPS. And maybe an MP3 player to listen to some tunes. And of course headphones. The kind that hook over your ear so they don’t fall off while you run. You know, with this much gear I should probably just use my smart phone and download a few apps to help out.

Running shoes, bra, clothes, socks, stop watch, pedometer, smart phone (GPS, MP3, and apps) and headphones. But that smart phone is kind of heavy to carry, so I should probably pick up a belt or armband carrier. That will help my time. Just a few simple things.

I'm always amazed at how much I manage to spend on this sport.

I’m always amazed at how much I manage to spend on this sport.

That’s it: shoes, bra, clothes, socks, stop watch, pedometer, smart phone, headphones, and running belt. And that’s all I really need. Except  on those really long runs, when I need some type of hydration system because getting dehydrated is the last thing I want.

And sunglasses and maybe a hat if it’s sunny out. And one of those elastic bands to keep the sunglasses from falling down my nose.

And sunscreen, because I don’t want skin cancer.

And bug spray for when I run the trails.

And reflectors for when I run after dark.

Boy, I sure am glad I don’t participate in one of those gear-heavy sports where you spend all your money on new equipment.

But I sure would like a heart rate monitor.

 

3 thoughts on “All You Need Are Running Shoes

  1. LMAO! Excellent post. Just running shoes, right? There’s an entire industry behind everything and each accessorized to the hilt. For biking, there’s a lot as well and what starts off as an affordable exercise turns out to be very expensive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

