Love Your Body More

I firmly believe that you can make the changes you want until you come to terms with the person you are. This isn’t just about health and weight. Any change for self-improvement has to come from a place of self-love or it is doomed to fail. I have seen myself self-sabotage over and over and it is usually because I’m attacking the part of me that I hate. It just doesn’t work.

I wasn’t able to write on this blog, change my eating habits, join a gym, or even wear a tank-top until I learned to like who I am, until I was able to look at myself in the mirror with an accepting, non-critical eye.

I was really happy to see this article on the Huffington Post:

Looking at These 6 Things Will Help You Love Your Body More

Some of the “6 Things” I had already heard of. For example, I read The Militant Baker on FB and I recently found A Fat Girl Dancing, which is just awesome!!! Others were new to me. I’m now following Weirdly Shaped and Well Photographed.  All of the links are really great.

What makes it special, is that this wasn’t on a “Fat Acceptance” blog, but something intended for the general audience. Of course there is the requisite hate in the comments section, and even a “Coty Lost 80 pounds” add in the sidebar, but it is nice to see such positive examples getting widespread recognition.

I leave you with my favorite “new find;” 10 Honest Thoughts on Being Loved by a Skinny Boy:

 

Leave a Reply

