Some Scientific Backing

There are things I agree with in the video and things I don’t. Some of my concerns are:

  • First of all, I have seen that cutting back on carbohydrates makes a huge difference, but I haven’t cut out all carbs. I still eat a serving of brown rice nearly every day. I don’t think all carbs are equal. Cereal, white bread, pasta, etc. are in one classification of carbs.  Brown rice, quinoa, and legumes are another.  Processed carbohydrates are what cause food addiction, in my experience. High-fiber, natural carbs do not. Fruits have carbs, but whole fruits are necessary for good health. There are carbs in most vegetables, but they aren’t (generally) high-carb foods, per se. This idea of 5 servings of fruits or vegetables per day is a low bar. I think you need more than that. And you need fruits and vegetables, not either or. There are so many vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients in these foods.
  • I think you need a certain amount of fiber for regularity. I don’t think you need so many carbs. I tend to avoid carbs for dinner, or limit them rather.
  • I think you need some fat in your diet, but that you really should limit the fats as well.  Fats from nuts (almonds, for example) is not the same as fat from butter or oil. I will occasionally use olive oil in cooking, but again, I try to limit that. I tend towards leaner meats, but there is some fat in meats even when they are lean. I think replacing carbs with high-fat food is what is wrong with the Atkins diet.

In spite of all this, I do think he has hit on some key points:

  • What we call appetite is largely food addiction.
  • Eating processed carbohydrates makes you crave more of the same a few hours later.
  • Limiting your carbs and focusing on protein, fruits, and vegetables.
  • I could sustain this eating program for the rest of my life.

Let me know what you think.

Leave a comment