One Year Later

I posted this morning about my progress (or lack thereof) in February, and it has kind of been weighing on my all day (no pun intended). One thing I’ve been trying to do is be both positive and more gentle with myself, and this morning all I could think about was how much I failed in February. Compared to January, February was a disaster.

I can dream about running on the beach, even if it is too cold to actually do it!

I can dream about running on the beach, even if it is too cold to actually do it!

But then I also started to think about how different this February was from last February.  January 29, 2013, I went in for what should have been a relatively safe surgical procedure, and nearly died from anaphalactic shock.  I was still in the hospital recovering on February 1. Which meant I had to go back in for the original surgery again on February 13. This time things went better, by which I mean I didn’t almost die, but the surgery was more than a procedure and ended up being a major abdominal event. Recovery was slow and painful.

Except for the days I was actually in the hospital, I did wear my fitbit. In fact, when I needed to increase my stamina, it helped to see how many steps I was taking each day. When I think about how far I have come since last year, I feel much more positive and hopeful. So instead of comparing February 2014 with January, I think I want to compare it to February 2013:

  • Steps taken 02/13 = 44,659
    Steps taken 02/14 = 192,816
  • Days over 8,000 steps in 02/13 = 0
    Days over 8,000 steps in 02/14 = 13
  • Highest step day in 02/13 = 5,655 on 2/27/13
    Highest step day in 02/14 = 12,55 on 2/22/14
  • Number of miles run in 02/13 = 0
    Number of miles run in 02/14 = 15 (Doesn’t seem like only now, does it?)
  • Number of days spent in hospital in 02/13 = 6
    Number of days spent in hospital in 02/14 = 0
  • Number of work days missed due to illness in 02/13 = 16
    Number of work days missed due to illness in 02/14 = 0
  • Number of blog posts in 02/13 = 0
    Number of blog posts in 02/14 = 9

When you look at it from this perspective, this February doesn’t seem that bad. I’m here. I’m stronger than ever. I’m starting something new with my life and I feel good about myself. And from now on, I’m going to look at the positives, not the negatives.  Thanks for bearing with me.

One thought on “One Year Later

Leave a Reply

