Smells Like Potential

A Few Rules To Run By

If you are a runner, make sure you read this article.

First, let me say that I currently consider myself a runner, not a jogger. Not because I’m fast (I am the antithesis of fast) but because in my mind joggers amble along without pushing themselves and runners constantly try to push for faster times, longer distances, better form etc. If you have a different definition that’s just fine, but this is my blog so there. Having said that, many running articles don’t apply to me. I don’t run races, I’m like a turtle compared to other runners (including my 70 yr old mother), and I’m still pretty new to this. Mostly I run alone. I’ve only been running a couple of years, after all.

This article, however, I loved. Not every part applied to me, but there were definitely some connections. Some of my favorite lines:

  • I believe it was Aristotle who said, “Tramps like us, baby, we were born to run.” Enjoy it.
  • There’s no need to jog in place or dance from foot to foot like you have to pee. Just chill. (I hate lights and try to plan my whole run to avoid them)
  • Even a zombie appreciates encouragement. (I always think everyone else looks good running, and I look like a cross between a penguin and a teakettle)
  • You rarely regret the runs you do; you almost always regret the runs you skip. (True, true, true!)
  • Running any given route in the rain makes you feel 50 percent more hard-core than covering the same route on a sunny day. (I learned this in Jan for the first time)
  • It’s fun to pretend that the gas you expelled is propelling you forward, like a little booster rocket.

And finally,

  • [New running shoes] smell like potential. And possibly toxins. But mostly potential.
One thought on “Smells Like Potential

Leave a Reply

