A Book I Can’t Wait to Read

A friend of mine on Facebook linked to this blog post: The Inanity of Overeating. The author, Gary Taubes is releasing a book called “Why We Get Fat.” I haven’t read the book (it isn’t out yet) but the article is interesting enough to make me want to read it.

The major premise, is that the scientific communities expertise about the “obesity problem” is essentially vacuous. We are fat because we overeat is essentially as meaningless as saying one is an alcoholic because one over-drinks. (love that analogy) The medical community address they symptoms, but not the cause.

His blog (as of this writing) has only one post, so I will have to reserve judgment on whether he has anything meaningful to add to the discussion, but I loved reading the article. When I get the book, I’ll add an update!

Leave a comment