Home Again. Home Again. Jiggity Jig!

Short post today. I’m just so happy to be home and I have a great achievement to share: I didn’t gain any weight over the two weeks off!

This is huge for me. I generally rack on the pounds while I’m away, whether for business or pleasure. So maintaining my weight is a really big deal and I’m very proud of myself. I didn’t really do anything special. We drove and drove and drove, so some of our meals were fast-food, but I ate until I was satisfied and then… (wait for it)… stopped eating. I credit this blog for this. I feel like getting my feelings out there and not holding everything in has helped me calm down a little. Every meal doesn’t feel like “The Last Supper.”

I also was more active than my usual sedentary self. I didn’t exercise but I went swimming nearly every day and we walked everywhere! I didn’t hang back. I got out and did stuff and really enjoyed myself more because I was doing stuff.

Now I want to figure out how I can incorporate those two strategies into my every day life. Obviously I can’t give up my job to go to walk or swim all day, but I can start thinking about fun things to get going in my regular schedule. My daughter had a good idea: she wants to get bikes. I think it sounds fabulous, and I’m so glad she is eager to do something, but I want it to feel like fun, not exercise. Any suggestions?

4 thoughts on “Home Again. Home Again. Jiggity Jig!

  1. Congratulations! I am just getting back from a road trip too, only I was afraid to look at my weight before and after. I hope your success continues!

    Like

    • you shouldn’t be scared, often you will be surprised at the result, and if you gain it lets you know how much. I just came back from a week at the in-laws, the in-laws that serve baked goods after every supper, the in-laws who seem to always be pushing food on me. Somehow I lost a pound during all of that. Shocked the heck out of me, I wasn’t watching too hard, just doing what the blogger did, stopping when I was full.

      As for the post BIKES are GREAT! I love mine, and it is a great idea. To save money I suggest looking for used (then again you may end up buying a friend or relative’s bike LOL) it costs much less and when it comes down to it bikes don’t change much, and mechanically as long as the chain moves on the gear and the rims aren’t bent the bike is good. Also, older bikes tend to have better shifting, the new bikes have weird elventy gear shifting, the older ones tend to be actual ten speeds.

      Tips, Avoid dirt bikes unless you plan to be biking on mountains. If you want to be on the road or some minor dirt trails I recommend a hybrid (smooth tires, wider then a roadie but thinner then a beach cruiser) or a roadie (thin smooth tires)

      Biking is a great workout, low impact and it gets you outside so it improves your mood

      Like

  2. I love the bike idea! That sounds like a fun activity you can do together! I want to do the same w/ my husband. But we’ll see. Congrats on maintaining! That is so hard to do when away from home (for me too!) 🙂 Keep up the good work. I’m struggling with not eating things just because they are in the house or because it’s good and I don’t want to waste … but stopping when I’m satisfied! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

