New Wardrobe

“If you always do what you’ve always done….”

Blah, blah, blah. So now I’m doing something that I’ve never done before. I bought myself a new wardrobe (summertime version) at the same time I’m starting a new weight regime. Yes, buying clothes that fit me now, with every intention of losing weight.

Did I win the lottery? No, but I’m not using financial thriftiness to

limit myself this time. It is part of that “bad” cycle I fall into. I’ll buy clothes I like when I’m thinner. For now, I’d rather look good now and know that if I’m thinner, I’ll look better.

I know I’m going to buy new clothes as I lose weight. I’ll also have access to hundreds of outfits I love, but just can’t fit into. But to be successful now, I need to feel good. And to feel good, I need to look good. That means clothes that fit, that flatter, that feel good to wear.

I’m still being practical and buying on the cheap, in the hope that these outfits don’t have to last more than one season. $7 tank tops and $12 shorts at Fashion Bug, rather than double that at Avenue or Lane Bryant. But after spending a couple hundred dollars on shorts (denim,even), tanks, tops, underwear, dress shirts for work, and even a cute sun-dress I fell better waking up in the morning and getting dressed than I have in months.

As I shopped I thought about what I’ve been noticing about the way plus-sized women dress on television. Drop-Dead Diva, while not a really good show, is wonderful for how the lead dresses and thinks about herself. Her clothes fit. She doesn’t wear tents to hide her size, but rather wears fitted clothes that emphasize her assets. I tried to do the same, on my own meager budget.

My only regret is that I don’t have a decent bathing suit. I did try to find one. Really, I tried, but every crappy skirted suit made me look ridiculous. However, I’m not giving up. I will continue to shop for the non-ridiculous bathing suit.

Leave a Reply

